Think before you do!

Think before you do!

Aunt Anzie raised me. She had the biggest “Servant’s Heart” of any person I have ever known. My parents worked mighty hard and long hours at the local textile mill. That made me a “mill kid” and my “nanny” in my younger days was my mom’s great-aunt.

A large, powerful Native American woman with a mane of braided hair down to her waist; she had a fourth-grade education and a lifetime of wisdom.

She told us kids once your fences need to be “horse-high, pig-tight and bull-strong.”

Only later in life would I realize she was educating us on having the proper information to plan our lives and work properly.

Horses need to have a corral fence high enough so they can gently place their head over it for apple feeding and head rubbing. We know pigs like to “root” their way out of their pens and they are persistent. And we all know what a bull can do if it decides to “woo” a cow in the adjacent pasture. You learn those things in life sometimes the hard way.

My Aunt was sharing the wisdom of being sure to know what you are doing before doing it. Listen to the elders. They have been there and done that.

Leave a comment