Inner peace comes from here and now

I spent many years of my young life trying to be perfect. However, I never succeeded and was foolish to believe I could. The perfectionistic approach will always cause internal conflict.

My Aunt Anzie lived a content life in a small simple house with a lush garden filled with vegetables and flowers. I never knew of her desire to want for anything. Material possessions were of little value to her. She had three homemade dresses, two pairs of shoes, and a Bible.

It would be years later after she died, I realized my parents provided her money for caring for me. That was her sole source of income..

She did her best at all she undertook and focused on what a wonderful life she believed she had.

Often later in her life, she would ask me how things were going. I would share with her my adolescent thoughts and feelings that day at that minute.

She listened carefully. Her response was typical Aunt Anzie, my love, she would say. Please focus on the good of your life right now, this minute. One day you will not be able to do that, and you will realize too late what you have missed.

I was blessed.

Leave a comment