“It doesn’t take a big person to carry a grudge.”

It doesn’t take a big person to carry a grudge.

I am ashamed to admit I carried a grudge for many years. I know the Armstrong’s can be foolish. It is part of the border clan’s history. Maybe it’s genetic? However, I learned a valuable life lesson and got into pretty good physical shape.

Shortly after I married back in the 1980s, one year looking out for a class reunion, I got “Ranger-ready” before the reunion date. It was the first time I had attended such a gathering since graduating from Butler-Caldwell County High School in 1968.

The year prior, I walked seven to nine miles everyday day. Rebuilt my physique back to my twenties when I was in the best shape ever. After all, Rangers lead the way. Although my wife suspected something, I didn’t tell her the reason until after I humiliated myself at the opening reception.

I went back to call out a guy that bullied me all the third grade in Mrs. Jones’ class at Eastside Elementary School in Princeton, Kentucky.

There are two ends of any room in which we hold our receptions. The bar and the other end. I knew he would be at the bar and that was the end I gravitated to in my search.

A heavy-set fellow with weak knees and more balding than me, turned around and greeted me with great enthusiasm. That was when I realized that not only could I have injured him, I came to understand how terribly stupid such rancor was.

I bought us a drink. He seemed genuinely glad to see me and I sucked it up, recognizing in myself such irrationality.

He is a politician. I gave him a donation for his next campaign although our politics are diametrically opposite.

And I learned, it doesn’t take much of a man to hold a ridiculous grudge against a fellow good human being. I have asked God for forgiveness,

Leave a comment