Silence is sometimes the best answer

As I age and reflect on the sayings our grandparents shared with us, one stands out to me.

My Papaw was not one to talk idly. When we would sit around and fish at the pond, we could get him to tell stories only when we asked. And then he could tell a real head banger.However, now and then, he would share advice from his years of being a timber man.

“Son, God gave us two ears and one mouth for a reason. Sometimes the best thing to do is listen,” he would say.

As an only child, they expected me to stay out of the way and entertain myself. I read a great deal and listened to the adults.

When I worked in government, the corporate world, and later in our business, I found the listening skills I had developed were incredibly helpful.

Ask a question to start the conversation. Then listen to understand, instead of thinking about your response. Over the years, through various training and senior management development classes, I found that strategy was spot on target.

Active listening skills are needed for the Collaborative Informed Consent® process to develop dialogue and understanding.

People are uncomfortable with silence, and they will fill that void with their own voice.

Silence is sometimes the best answer.

Leave a comment