Maybe if We Taught Compassion and Kindness

In the past few decades, society and those raising kids, managing businesses, and going about their everyday affairs have forgotten or were not taught my mother and aunt’s universal lessons.

Be compassionate and kind at all times.

Aunt Anzie and Mom (Miss Polly) raised me on the outskirts of Princeton in a WWII two bed room matchbox home until I left at 17 to attend Murray State University.

The rules and teachings were simple.

Be home by the time the street lamps came on; let them know where I was going, and always be kind and compassionate towards others.

They never asked much more of me.

Suppose teachers, business people, and “parents” focused on these two basic human principles of behavior and applied them in our work and personal lives.

In that case, we might have fewer problems in our society.

I recognize it is a thought and only such.

Instead, we have reverted to anthropological tribalism and an intensely personal-focused narcissism.

Compassion and tolerance are not signs of weakness;” The Dalai Lama says, “instead, they are a sign of strength.”

Remarkable how much in common my aunt and mom had with the 87-year-old Tibetian spiritual leader.

Leave a comment